The following appeal for a citizens March on August 6 in Delhi was released (by Safdar Hashmi Memorial Trust, Delhi) to the press along a peace poster poster on August 5, 1998 by Raj Babbar, Sashi Kumar ,MK Raina, Shamshad, Parthiv Shah, Madangopal Singh. The appeal is signed by a large number of Indian artists and intellectuals.

On the 6th of August, 1945,the first atom bomb was dropped on the city of Hiroshima followed by a similar bomb three days later on the city of Nagasaki. Over 200,000 people died in its immediate aftermath and thousands continued to die every year from the after effects of the bomb.

We find the idea of a nuclear war totally abhorrent. But unfortunately this very idea has been made very real by the nuclear weapons tests on May 11 & 13 by India and subsequent tests by Pakistan.

The people of India, and of Pakistan, must act to stop this madness. The Governments of both the countries must immediately halt the programme of weaponisation and must not induct or deploy nuclear weapons. The costs of nuclear deployment and the threat of nuclear exchange are just too high.

India must vigorously campaign to dismantle the global discriminatory nuclear regime and initiate moves towards global nuclear disarmament.

To express our total opposition to nuclear arms we appeal to all citizens to join the Citizens March on 6th August against nuclear weapons and for global nuclear disarmament starting from Shantivana Marg at 10.30am.The March shall culminate at Ferozeshah Kotla Grounds.

Signed by:

Vivan Sundaram, MKRaina, Irfan Habib, Shubha Mudgal, Shamshad, Prasanna,KM Shrimali, Shabana Azmi, Jatin Das, Anuradha Kapoor, KN Panikkar, Raj Babbar, Dadi Pudumjee, Javed Akhtar, Sheila Bhatia, Arpana Caur, Zohra Segal, Shujaat Husain Khan Romi Khosla, Manjit Bawa, Bishakha De' Sarkar, Geeta Kapoor, Rati Bartholomew, Haku Shah, Hemendra BhatiaParthiv Shah, Ruchira Gupta, Manu Parekh, Anil Chandra, Nadira Babbar, Rahul Ram, Madhavi Parekh, Javed Alam, Lokendra Trivedi, Paramjit Singh, Jawahar Watal, Mrinalini Mukherjee, Ranjit Singh, Arpita Singh, Rajendra Prasad, Kiran Segal, Rajinder Arora, Rahul Verma, Shabnam Hashmi, Ram Rahman, Hali Vats, Sohail Hashmi, Sudhir Mishra, Alpana Khare, Madangopal Singh, Kumi Chandra, Indira Chandrasekar